Author Topic: Just a question  (Read 5188 times)

Quakecomm

Just a question
« on: March 23, 2014, 12:54:10 pm »
So I'm new to donkey kong, and I was wondering, if I was going for a score using the MAME emulator, what rom file/MAME version/controller should I use?

Drunkguy89

Re: Just a question
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2014, 01:22:25 pm »
https://donkeykongforum.net/index.php?topic=653.0

Every thing you need to know can be found here ^^

and to set it all up...view this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VsfV1Wdc2aM

And Welcome!  :)

Offline stella_blue

• High Score Moderator
  • Spring Jumper
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2014, 01:27:48 pm »
So I'm new to donkey kong, and I was wondering, if I was going for a score using the MAME emulator, what rom file/MAME version/controller should I use?

Excerpted from the DK List Submission Rules topic:

Normative Rules: The normative rules are the most preferred manner for scores to be submitted to the High Score List.  It is the player's responsibility to be familiar with these rules and follow them as precisely as possible.

5.   All MAME submissions are to include an attached zip folder with the .inp and .wlf files.

6.   All scores achieved on MAME may be done on ANY version of WolfMAME using only the "US Set 1" ROM set.  Other MAME programs are excluded.  If you are looking to submit your recorded INP to Twin Galaxies then you will need to use WolfMAME Plus 0.106, the only officially approved version of Twin Galaxies.

8.   4-way controls must be used on both the Arcade cabinet and through MAME.  The "dkong" ROM for MAME is already set up to limit inputs to 4-way controls, whether played with a joystick or a keyboard.  Any attempt to modify the "dkong" ROM for this or any other purpose will be rejected.  Arcade players are to use 4-way controls only, requiring the 4-way restrictor plate.  8-way controls will be rejected.

EDIT:  Forgot to say "Welcome to the forum!"  Honestly, where are my manners?