Author Topic: Building your own DK Machine  (Read 12228 times)

Offline craighiphopfish

• Gleaming the cube!!!
    • Awards
Building your own DK Machine
« on: February 10, 2013, 02:33:30 pm »
It's been difficult to find a Nintendo Arcade game out in Denver lately (Popeye, DK, DK Jr, etc.).  So, since I am a teacher and I have a bit of extra time in the summer... I'm thinking about building my own Nintendo Cabinet (DK Jr or Mario Bros) for a fun/learning project.  I already own an original DK cab so I will have it to use as a reference.  Has anyone ever attempted this from scratch? 
p.s., How common are affordable 19" Sanyo or Vision Pro monitors these days.  I rarely see them now that they haven't been produced in several years.  I want to avoid LCD at all costs.  ~Craigers
Member for 11 Years Twitch Streamer

Offline Ohrami

• games video
    • Awards
Re: Building your own DK Machine
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2013, 02:36:33 pm »
Looks like the Kong Off doesn't have any local influence apparently
Donkey Kong high score: 863,200 L=22-1 (MAME)
twitch.tv/donkyousu
Member for 11 Years DK Killscreener

Offline craighiphopfish

• Gleaming the cube!!!
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2013, 04:25:10 pm »
I know right?  Thankfully I got my machine before the Kong off, but it may have had a lingering effect on arcade availability in the Mile High city.
Member for 11 Years Twitch Streamer

Offline hooch66

• Personal Blog
    • Awards
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013, 07:00:13 am »
I would be interested to hear how successful you would be with this project. I think it's very ambitious, but can be done. I'm not sure how cost effective compared to finding a buying a cabinet it would be, though. It's something I've contemplated.

Have you checked out the klov forums?  http://forums.arcade-museum.com/ They have a "wanted" section and I bet somebody in your area has a Nintendo cab for sale.

Anyway, good luck with this.
Member for 11 Years Blogger

Fast Eddie