Author Topic: Can the pies be point pressed?  (Read 3292 times)

Online homerwannabee

• Spring Jumper
    • Awards
Can the pies be point pressed?
« on: March 22, 2019, 11:44:14 am »
Something just occurred to me.  I've noticed that when the top players have already used the hammer, and all five fireballs are on top, and there is 5000 still on the timer that they still sprint to the left to get to the next level.  But it seems like people can actually point press the pies.

So my question becomes.  Why aren't they point pressing the pies?  From what I've seen it seems possible to get more points by doing this.  I mean if people are going to top shelf I don't see why people don't go for the pie press. 

Of course I am a novice to them, but am I missing something?
"Perception forged in delusion and refined by pain"

-Ross Benzinger

"It's like we are able to play beautiful music out there, but no one can hear the instruments"

-Leon Shepard
Member for 11 Years Former DK3 World Record Holder DK Killscreener DK Masters - Rank D IGBY 2014 DKF Team Member CK Killscreener Have a score on every DK3 track Blogger Twitch Streamer Former DKJR World Record Holder - MAME DKJR Killscreener DK3 Repetitive Blue Screener

Offline xelnia

• Administrator
  • Spring Jumper
  • Stop using 0.106
    • Twitch
    • Awards
Re: Can the pies be point pressed?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2019, 12:01:14 pm »
Aside from the hammer, your only options are to leech the pies or leech the oil can. In the case of pies, you will likely lose any profit from leeching while you're waiting for the next pie to spawn. In the case of the oil can, you probably lose too much time repositioning after each jump for it to be profitable, but I haven't tested it. Even if you don't, you're going to lose a bunch of time trying to finish the level after leeching... probably enough to offset whatever profit you made.