Author Topic: What type of joystick do MAME players use?  (Read 10723 times)

Offline NWnike

• Awards
What type of joystick do MAME players use?
« on: March 08, 2019, 01:56:22 pm »
So, I recently started playing DK on MAME. When I am asking this question I am really asking about handheld devices. I do not have a cabinet, although the plan is to build one later this year. I got an Xbox controller since it is plug and play but the stick has way too much range of motion to be read consistently by the engine, leading to Jumpman stalling for just a bit, which in turn makes it hard to not lose lives in senseless ways. I guess I need something either very stiff or as close to a 4 way controller as possible. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Member for 5 Years Blogger Twitch Streamer

Offline NWnike

• Awards
Re: What type of joystick do MAME players use?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2019, 08:53:50 am »
OK, that didn't receive any suggestions... lol. I have seen it mentioned in the forums that some play MAME DK with their KB but I did not think that would be what a majority would do since it is so different from a cabinet. Is this the way you play or do you play MAME in a cabinet with a control panel? I'm looking for a more consistent way to control Jumpman since about 1/2 my deaths are from lack of controller response. I thought I would get used to this controller but that hasn't been the case.

Offline homerwannabee

• Spring Jumper
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2019, 09:06:47 am »
Sorry I can't help, but I am a keyboard video game warrior myself.  I have heard people give a pretty good review to the X arcade joystick.  It's expensive though.

https://www.ebay.com/b/x-arcade-joystick/bn_7024796862
"Perception forged in delusion and refined by pain"

-Ross Benzinger

"It's like we are able to play beautiful music out there, but no one can hear the instruments"

-Leon Shepard