Author Topic: How can I convert an original Donkey Kong panel into a USB control stick?  (Read 3135 times)

Offline Redghost357

• Looking everywhere for a DK in this death valley
    • Awards
So I want to make an authentic USB stick for my Raspberry Pi with an original Donkey Kong control panel and am willing to buy one for $150 from Mikes arcade.

https://www.mikesarcade.com/cgi-bin/store.pl?sku=CPDKONG

I’m a newb though to building USB sticks so how would I convert an old Donkey Kong arcade panel into a USB stick compatible for my Pi?

Should I purchase the old wiring for the Donkey Kong panel or do I need to upgrade it to new wiring? Could I hook up an encoder to the old wiring?

I provided a picture for the underside to show the original wiring and hope I can easily plug this into some kind of compatible encoder if possible, please notify me. I don’t know anything about wiring so I hope I don’t need to buy anything extra for an encoder except for a a USB adapter.

This will be one of my favorite builds.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2018, 07:12:22 pm by Redghost357 »
Anyone know where to find a DK in eastern WA? Looking everywhere in this death valley of ours that I call Yukima Valley.

As quoted from The King of Kong: A Fistfull Of Quarters:

Pro 27:17  Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.
Member for 5 Years

Offline Kewydee_17

• Twitch
    • Awards
It's a control panel, not a control board. Board would normally mean the circuit board (PCB)
That said, it looks like you need a keyboard encoder, something like this:

https://www.ultimarc.com/ipac1.html

Connect the wires from the control panel if it has wires, or make a wiring loom, to the Ipac, connect Ipac via USB and your Pi will think its a keyboard.

Assign your buttons in PiMAME or whatever software you are using and your good.

I haven't done this myself, or used a Pi, but this setup will work for MAME on a PC so I can't see any problem.