Author Topic: Help trouble shooting My old machine  (Read 25795 times)

MCrysdale

Help trouble shooting My old machine
« on: March 07, 2016, 09:26:44 am »
I'm brand new to this board.  I have had a Donkey Kong machine for about 20 Years.  I bought it off a friend when he moved away.  It's clean machine that is in good condition.  Looks like it had a pretty easy life. 

It work great for a number of years, but the 'stopped' working.  I didn't have time to trouble shoot it and it sat in my garage for about 15 years.  I loved the machine and never wanted to get rid of it, so I hung on to it so I could get it working again some day.

That day has arrived!  I've decided to bring it in the house and get it running again.  The state of the machine is when plugged in and turned on nothing happens except for a tiny buzz from the transformer/power supply.  I have very little experience with electronics, to any advice would be appreciated.

Here is the little I've done so far.

--Went on the web and researched a bunch (learned that mine is an earlier machine with 4 boards and the machine in 100V not standard USA 120V)
1--Check the fuse back by the power switch and tested it with a volt meter just to be sure.
2--I cleaned out the entire machine of dust and and debris.
3--Replace the brittle old slightly chipped T-molding with matching Nintendo T-molding
4--Removed the marquee  florescent. I am looking to upgrade it to similar LEDs lighting
5--Pulled out the Power supply and other 2d box (Not sure what that's is) on the removable plywood unit .  Open the 2d box and check the fuse in the bottom.
6--Pulled out the 4 PC board unit and inspected them for any visible damage.  Replace the old peeling tape off the E Proms with electrical tape (not sure if that was correct, but seemed like a good idea)
7--Put it all back together and confirmed the 2 100V plugs and the power to the 2d box on that plywood board were getting power (they all were)