Author Topic: London DK Players/Machines  (Read 4890 times)

Christopher_Robin

London DK Players/Machines
« on: February 25, 2016, 02:24:52 am »
Hi everyone,

I’m new to the forum so I just thought I’d introduce myself first.  I’ve been playing Donkey Kong since October 2015 on a MAME bartop cabinet.

I first broke 100K in November.  My high score by mid-December was 160K and I got my first 200K game just after New Years day.  A couple of weeks later I got 260K and that was my high score for over 6 weeks, until last night.

Last night I got 277,800 and I lost my last man on the level 8 rivets stage because two fireballs wouldn’t get out of the way of the top right rivet, causing me to run out of time!

At this stage, I’m obviously aiming to get 300K.  The main thing I need to improve on is spring retreating on the elevator stage, but I find this very, very difficult to do (I end up getting killed even when it was safe to go, because I hesitate too long).  I also don’t have the technical know-how (or the patience) to make a practice save state for it.

LONDON PLAYERS - Are there any or many DK players in the UK on here?  I find that if I am lucky enough to find a 60 in 1 in a bar somewhere, there’s rarely a decent score on there. 
The main exception I’ve found being “The heart of gaming” in Acton, which shows a high score of 317K (last time I went).

It would be great to find some skilled players that I can meet and swap tips with.

LONDON DONKEY KONG CABINET –

I have yet to find an original Donkey Kong working arcade in London.  I don’t mean to buy, I mean in a public place. 
Does anybody know anywhere I might find one?