Author Topic: Spring Theory  (Read 42000 times)

Offline xelnia

• Administrator
  • Spring Jumper
  • Stop using 0.106
    • Twitch
    • Awards
Spring Theory
« on: September 01, 2013, 07:58:28 am »
Ever since I started playing DK I've been fascinated with the elevator stage. Of all the boards, it truly is the only one on which no player should ever die. However I still find myself dying, as do even the best players. I decided to take a closer look at the stage when the code for the game was posted on the forums. What follows in this post, and probably the several after it, is a technical, code-level analysis of the springs. Since I'm not a programmer, engineer, or math expert I apologize up front for any mistakes or inconsistencies in the terminology and presentation. I encourage everyone to dig in, double-check my work, and break it down even further.

Let me also state that I don't think any of the following information will be groundbreaking or crucial for most players, especially beginners. This is just an extraction of information that lies in the code and is intended for those of us who enjoy looking under the hood.? I won't be delving too deep into actual spring strategy, but hopefully this post will get the wheels churning and someone will see something useful.

I used a variety of methods to gather this information. Starting with the DK code posted by Jeff Willms, I used WolfMAME 106, 140, and 149 and a variety of save-states to analyze the spring behavior in Donkey Kong US Set 1 and D2K: Jumpman Returns.

This post is concerned with the actual springs themselves. Hopefully further analysis on fireball movement, leeching opportunities, elevator movement, etc. will come later.

Spring Basics

Rate of Generation

First and foremost, how often are the springs generated? Each new spring corresponds with the Bonus Timer ticks and one spring is generated for every 100 that the timer decrements.

Spring Generation: