Author Topic: MiSTer Donkey Kong hardware implementation  (Read 3162 times)

Offline Luddite

• Awards
MiSTer Donkey Kong hardware implementation
« on: January 19, 2020, 01:02:48 am »
Hello everybody, I'm new here.

I've been playing DK recently with MiSTer FPGA board. Has anyone else here tried that and validated if the gameplay is accurate to the original?

I'm no DK expert myself (I think I broke my record with 78k points yesterday) and one thing has made me a little bit suspicious: I have got a descending barrel and a fireball on my head few times while standing under a ladder swinging the hammer. They have sneaked through the swings. I don't recall that happening years back with MAME, but I may don't remember correctly. So is that accurate behaviour?

For those new to FPGAs (and MiSTer) I would say the subject is well worth getting familiar with. If the hardware implementation is accurate (and you even bypass USB as input method for it's a small additional lag) you will get 100% original arcade gameplay experience with this setup. 
Member for 4 Years

Offline Kevin

• Awards
Re: MiSTer Donkey Kong hardware implementation
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2020, 09:55:46 am »
Yup gotta time those hammer swings or the barrels can make it through and kill you. Lots of good strats/info on the boards to help your game.

I'm not the one to do it but it would great to know if this is accurate enough for competitive play.

And welcome to the community
Member for 4 Years

Offline ChrisP

• Spring Jumper
  • I'm going to jump next to your leg.
    • Donkey Blog
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2020, 11:27:52 am »
Rest assured, objects slipping through your hammer from above is normal behavior.

Play more DK, on any platform of your choosing, stand under ladders with the hammer, and you will get to experience plenty more of it.  :)