Author Topic: New member intro  (Read 6105 times)

J.Deans

New member intro
« on: February 27, 2013, 02:39:53 pm »

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and just wanted to give a little background about myself. I'm 41 and live in Vancouver Washington, just across the Columbia river from Portland Or.
I have been collecting arcade games from my youth for about 5 years. I've been playing and trying to improve my DK skills on the arcade machine for almost a year and have made some decent progress for a rookie. My high is 506,200 but I average around 300,000 . I have Mame but I only really used it getting comfortable with the 3rd elevators. My main weakness at this point (I know it's early) in the game is wild barrels. I don't point press on the barrels and only get the top hammer, I just try to get to the hammer as fast as I can. I think if I could get better with wild barrel reaction it would be of great help improving my score. Most of what I've learned is from watching videos of the best players and reading some older CAG threads, there's not a lot on Klov that i could find other than the basic intermediate stuff. I'm very glad that this forum was put together, it should be very helpful for people like me with a lower skill set that want to improve. It's great that all this knowledge is now in one place and people don't have to scour the web for tips and strategy. Thank you to the founder(s) of this forum, Jon.

Offline JCHarrist

• Spring Jumper
    • Donkey Kong Forum
    • Awards
Re: New member intro
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 03:08:06 pm »
Welcome Jon!

If you haven't already , check out twitch.tv and the list of DK streamers thread. There is usually someone streaming DK and a lot of us hang out in the chats.

Glad to have you aboard.
Member for 11 Years DKF Founder Former CK World Record Holder - Arcade CK Killscreener DK Killscreener

Offline stella_blue

• High Score Moderator
  • Spring Jumper
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2013, 03:33:27 pm »