Author Topic: The Basic Repertoire  (Read 6445 times)

Offline ChrisP

• Spring Jumper
  • I'm going to jump next to your leg.
    • Donkey Blog
    • Awards
The Basic Repertoire
« on: November 17, 2014, 09:17:54 pm »
My recent foray into Galaxian got me thinking. As soon as I started playing it, I thought to myself, "I really should have tried this sooner, I mean come on, how can I call myself a classic arcade gamer without ever having touched Galaxian?"

<Sanders> talks in King of Kong about a set of "top 5" games that garnered most of the respect back in the day. "You had to be good at one of those games" (to paraphrase).

He lists Donkey Kong, Galaga, Pac Man, Ms. Pac Man, and Defender.

I don't know if I'd agree with all of those, but what would you consider to be "essentials," games where at least a bare minimum level of skill/experience should be in every classic arcade gamer's repertoire? Picking the games would, I guess, be weighted with respect to a balance of popularity, significance, required skill set, size of competition pool, etc.

I would have to start, obviously, with DK. DK is sort of a "lingua franca" in classic gaming and I think pretty much every classic gamer ought to know their way around the first 100,000 points or so (even if they don't like the game, they should at least know it well enough to qualify their distaste from a position of experience! ;D )

I would not disagree with a list that included Galaga either. Of the Pacs, I would pick Ms.

Any other ideas? Or would you question whether such a list is even worth thinking about?
http://donkeykongblog.blogspot.com

4 Quarters :-* - 800K Avg. Per Qtr. :o - No Restarts 8) - No Proof :'(

7/26/2013   Coin 35,946   710,800   18-1
7/28/2013   Coin 35,947   903,700   22-1
8/16/2013   Coin 35,948   694,100   17-6
8/17/2013   Coin 35,949   893,100   22-1

3,201,700: the $1 World Record?