Author Topic: Donkey Dong: An Ignorant Man's Progress Through The DK Family  (Read 6797 times)

Offline bensweeneyonbass

• Dong Face Killer
    • Boooooring!
    • Awards
Inaugural blog post!

This is where I'll share my progress and thoughts about Donkey Kong, D2K, Crazy Kong, Donkey Kong Junior, and Donkey Kong 3. Here's how it stands as of now, about two and a half years since I started playing CAG for the first time, but before I share my progress to date I wanted to explain the title of this blog. I consider myself an "ignorant" gamer because I actively choose not to approach games by studying existing strategies. I get in and start playing and play until I hit a wall. I watch others' performances, and if I see something that makes sense to me, I'll employ it. However, I'm sure there are a lot of things I'm not doing right because my current strategies haven't completely failed me yet. Once I hit a choke point in my progress, I typically hit the books and see what I'm doing wrong. I guess I think I can just "be good" at games naturally, 'cuz you know I'm a natural Kappa. Don't let this stop anyone from sharing any tips with me. I may use them or I may not, so don't take offense, I'm just an ignorant gamer.

Donkey Kong:

This is one of the first games I played once I got MAME'd. What's all the hubbub, I asked. Well, plenty of hubbub is due it would seem. After dabbling very casually on this game for over two years, I finally started playing with more diligence in the past month. I got my first start on a day that provided me three starts in total, and set a PB of 155k. That stands as my current PB and the INP can be found on the HSL.

D2K:

I really enjoy this game but haven't hit it very hard yet. There's some technique I still need to iron out. It has taken a back seat as of now to make way for...

Crazy Kong: